Chugging Along

Another personal life update today!  Marathon training’s been pretty boring so blogging about each run seems pointless.  It’s been going well since I last posted in my halfway post.  I can’t believe I have a little over 2 months to go!

As fall approaches so does the pressure to nail down a job.  Boy, has that been a doozy.

I interviewed for a position at Calvert County.  Landing a NJROTC position has been tough because most schools have filled the open slots by June.  Officer positions are also so few and far.  It’s been slightly frustrating.  The Calvert interview was a phone one and although I think it went okay, I had a feeling they weren’t comfortable with how far away I lived or my inexperience with teaching.  I did receive the “Thanks for applying…” email that following Monday.  Rejection is so much fun everyone! (and no, this isn’t my first job rejection.  I had a few sent to me the weeks prior as well).  Last week I got a call from Baltimore County.  I was a little surprised by it because I applied a few months ago and received silence from them when I tried calling the HR office to inquire about a site visit.  The phone screening left me a bit uneasy as the gentleman wanted to know the nature of my medical retirement.  I politely tried to decline to respond but I have a feeling that didn’t sit well with him.  I was told that I’d be called sometime in August for an interview.  I guess I’ll see if I get a call.

Since the last job post I applied for 2 law enforcement positions in Prince George’s County.  I didn’t pursue them but I got an email from the sheriff recruiter.  They have a class starting in September that they’re trying to fill.  I jumped at the chance and took the APFT and exam.  Both went well.  Now it’s background, poly, and interviews.  Here’s hoping that goes well!

Passed! Everyone says police tests are easy but you just never know.


No word from my county on where I stand after my poly.  I’m still freaked out by how it went =-/.  There were a ton of applicants so I’m not surprised I haven’t heard anything.

I applied for one more position outside of the main two fields I mentioned before.  The company my husband works for had a supervisor position open up.  I decided to apply for it.  I have my onsite interview this Thursday.  I’m excited but nervous once again.  Interviews are so scary!  I have to run out and buy some interview clothes since what I own is very limited and it’s been too hot to wear them (I’ve worn them for my LEO application process).  At least I’m getting more business friendly clothes out of this deal ;-).

Sadly, I may need to replace these shoes soon.


Lastly, some running-related updates.  As I mentioned above, I’m still running strong.  I missed a longish run this past weekend because I caught a cold from my children.  All of us being sick has been tough.  All I want to do is sleep and burrow in my bed but my children are so miserable as well and need me to care for them.  Thankfully we’re at the tail end of the illness so things have gotten easier.  I don’t think I could handle a lot of sleepless nights trying to soothe my son for much longer.  That was rough.  I have no idea how I survived the newborn days.  Outside of this I’ve been running pretty consistently.  I’ve seen a small drop in my long run speed in the last few weeks.  Initially I was consistently running around 9:00-9:30 miles.  More recently I’ve been sitting around 8:30-9:00 per mile and being able to squeak a sub-8 minute mile for my last mile.  It’s nice to see and pretty encouraging.  Maybe this BQ will happen.

Not pictured: arm warmers and headband


Thanks to a tip from a friend I was able to buy my first tri kit at an amazing price.  The entire stash included the tri top, bike shorts, bike jersey, running shorts, arm warmers, and headband.  I’ve been toying with the idea of getting into triathlons for the last 3 years but haven’t had the guts to pull the trigger on it.  Having the kit is a nudge in that direction.  I don’t want to commit to one quite yet because I need to work out my work schedule first but I think I’m going to sign up for one in 2018-2019.  The last major race I want to sign up for is the WDW marathon in 2018 so my schedule is pretty open after that. With my oldest in school and my youngest possibly starting pre-school then, it’ll be a good time to consider one.  I haven’t decided what, when, and where but I plan to re-evaluate at the end of 2017.  Regardless, whenever I do decide to jump on the bandwagon I at least have the kit for it.  I’ll definitely be using the running stuff now, though ;-).

Well, that’s all I have for now.  Definitely not interesting stuff for anyone but me but it’s nice for me to have this to reflect on in the future.  Hopefully I’ll have a better running related post next time.

Leave a Reply

