Return to Racing: My Postpartum 10K Training Plan

I decided for today’s post I’d share my plan for getting back into racing shape rather than my usual weekly summary.

When I found out I was pregnant, I knew a lot of my races would have to be put on the back burner.  I had originally signed up for the King Crab Challenge here in Baltimore, but with the marathon falling in mid-October I knew there was no way I’d be able to to prepare for a marathon in 4 short weeks.  I deferred it to the 2016 race season.  I did keep one of my October races, though.  I had deferred the Wicked 10K in VA Beach last year due to travel constraints.  This year my husband and I decided to go and make it a mini vacation trip (I was planning on DNSing it because of the long drive for such a short weekend).  I figured a 10K was completely doable, especially after keeping up my running throughout my pregnancy.  I looked up some training plans and made a decision on which one to follow based on my performance at a 5K this past Saturday.

I decided to follow Hal Higdon’s 10K Novice Program.  I had good results with his 5K training plan so I knew I’d like his 10K program.  I love that it has a good mix of cross-training and different running exercises.  I decided on the novice program rather than the intermediate, though, mainly because of time constraints.  I feel strong enough to go with the intermediate program but with it asking for 5+ miles on the weekend and some 45 minute workouts, I know I won’t be able to swing that kind of time commitment.  Keeping my newborn in mind, I need to keep the majority of my workouts under an hour.  I’ve been able to do a bit more but it’s only been when I’ve done P90X at home.  I know that by the time I get to the final weeks, our nursing schedule will be such that I can steal away 50 minutes or so away from home.

This plan is also spread out to cover 8 weeks of training.  I’m only going to be able to complete 6 of those weeks since I’m starting the plan today.  I’m okay with that because I’ll at least be covering a good base of mileage before the actual race.  I’m hoping I’ll be able to shave a few seconds off my pace by then.  I’ve been running pretty close to a 9 minute pace this last week so I’m hopeful I can get down to 8:30 by race day (October 31).

I’ll be posting a recap of the 5K I did Saturday sometime this week (hopefully).  Bear with me as I have a lot of posts planned, including a birth story recap, but very little time to work/edit them.  Ah, the life of a mom of two with a newborn =).

Leave a Reply

