Bulu Box – A Sponsored Review 

Disclaimer:  I received my first Bulu Box through the Sweat Pink Ambassador program in exchange for a test and review of their products.  All comments reflect my own thoughts on the product, and I have not been monetarily compensated for my review.

As someone who is interested in fitness and nutrition, I love to try out the latest and greatest product out there.  I don’t like spending the money on a full-size product I’ve never used or sampled, however.  It is a true bummer when you spend your hard earned cash on the next greatest product only to sadly realize it just doesn’t work out for you.  It’s nice when I get to try out a sample first before I commit to buying the full-size product.  Sadly, I feel as though the only time this is possible is at fitness expos or events at my local running store.  Unfortunately, my ability to attend events are usually far and few.  In comes Bulu Box:

Bulu Box is the first health, nutrition and weight loss discovery box designed to help you feel your best. Each month, you’ll get a custom box filled with a new mix of 4 to 5 premium samples from top brands to try. Every sample is sufficient enough to decide if the product is right for you.

Much in line with the latest trend of monthly home subscriptions, Bulu Box offers to deliver sample-sized nutrition and health products straight to your door for you to try out.  Intrigued with the idea of receiving monthly samples of new products without leaving my home, I jumped at the chance to try out Bulu Box through Sweat Pink.  Last week I received my first box of fine nutrition products.  I eagerly opened the box, excited to try out some new items that I could possibly add to my diet.  It felt like Christmas!

  
  
This particular box contained 2 packets of Quest Protein Powder in peanut butter, a Medterra nutrition bar, a jar of Earth’s Care anti-itch cream, a packey of Yerba Prima Fiber Plus Powder in apple spice flavor, and Movit energy gummies in citrus.


The first product I tried out was the Quest Protein Powder.  In general, I’m a huge fan of protein powder.  I typically have 1 protein powder shake every other day and have been adding it to my smoothies lately to help increase my protein intake.  I especially love anything peanut butter flavored since it is so much easier to add to the mix than straight peanut butter from a jar.  The fact that this product was from Quest was kind of like the icing on the cake for me because I like Quest bars in general.  I was eager to add this powder to my morning smoothie and was not disappointed when I did.  The taste was not chalky like some powders can be.  It was very distinctly peanut butter in taste and I could sweat I had added real peanut butter to my blender.  The powder also blended quite smoothly into the drink.  There were no lumps or bits sticking to the side of my blender, even with my use of only 1/2 cup of milk, 1/2 of yogurt, and a banana in the mix.  This made my drink enjoyable and made me strongly consider buying Quest Protein Powder in the future for my protein fill.  One other great selling point of this powder is that you can use it in cooking as well.  I’ll definitely be using my second packet in my oatmeal next time!


I tried the Mediterra Mediterranean Nutrition Bar next.  This bar was unique in that unlike the typical nutrition bar, the one I received was a savory flavor (they also offer several other flavors that are of the typical sweet variety).  The sample I received was a sun-dried tomato and basil variety.  I was intrigued by this and threw it into my purse when I went out one day so I had it available to snack on later on.  When I did get to try it that day, I was a bit surprised to say the least.  I will preface the following comments by saying that in the past my nutrition bar experiences have been solely with sweet flavors.  This one threw me in for a loop.  The texture was that of what you’d expect of a granola bar with some sort of dried fruit.  The flavor was what I would expect to taste when I bite into pasta.  My brain was a bit confused by the combination of these two properties.  Though the taste was delicious, my brain just couldn’t get over how much the texture didn’t match.  Texture is a big deal for me so I unfortunately didn’t finish it.  I’d definitely try this bar in a different flavor (cherry pistachio anyone?) but I’ll be passing on the savory flavors in the future.


The last product I was able to try was the Earth’s Care Anti-Itch Cream.  I was pleased with receiving this product because we are in the thick of mosquito season here in Maryland.  I, unfortunately, attract them like crazy and get bitten often.  I also happen to have an allergic reaction to bug bites and develop some nasty welts that never seem to be relieved by standard anti-itch creams.  I was excited to try this out as soon as possible because, as luck would have it, I had just suffered some nasty bug bites.  This look much like your standard anti-itch cream but had the perks of being made from predominately natural ingredients.  This particular cream contained camphor and menthol as active ingredients along with shea butter and almond oil.  Yes, it did smell a bit like IcyHot but I personally love the smell of menthol.  The cream brought relief immediately.  Despite its IcyHot smell, there was no burning or cooling feeling.  I just simply relief within the first 2 minutes.  I was pleased with the non-greasy texture as well.  This is definitely a product I’ll consider buying in the future for my bug bite needs.


I did not have the opportunity to try out the Yerba Prima protein powder or the Movit energy gummies.  These products contain some herbs and additives that I cannot have since I am pregnant.  I’ll definitely give them a try once I get the all clear from the doctor.  I know I’m looking forward to trying out the energy gummies because I’m a sucker for those kinds of products for mid-run refuels.


I was very impressed with the variety I received with my first Bulu Box, especially with how nicely portioned the samples are.  Bulu Box not only promises these kinds of sample varieties in the future, but also offers a Rewards Points program in exchange for your opinions on the samples provided.  One small survey will gain you 10 Reward Points, and you receive $5 towards purchasing full-size products on BuluBox.com for every 50 Points you earn.

Interested in trying out this subscription?  Now’s the time to do so!  Bulu Box is currently offering a 50% discount on their 3, 6, or 12 month subscriptions now if you use the code SWEATPINK.  That sounds like a pretty sweet deal to me.  If you’re up to it, give it a try.  You may just find your new favorite cream, gummy, vitamin, or snack!

Leave a Reply

