Pregnancy: Weeks 35 & 36

I’m officially less than a month from my due date!  I can’t believe it’s September already!  T-26 days until Baby J makes his arrival.

35 weeks – looking rather rough. That’s common nowadays.


Symptoms:

  • Baby’s position – I think it’s time to add this since I’m closing in on my due date.  I was checked 2 weeks ago (after my last post) and was told I was at 3 cm and 60%.  Baby was laying quite low in my pelvis so he’s heading in the right direction.  Sometime last weekend, Baby J dropped further into my pelvis.  This quickly became apparent to me when I experienced some excruciating nerve pain in my upper thigh.  I also can’t walk well either and have finally adopted the pregnancy waddle.  Lovely.
  • Frequent urination – This has gotten worse since he dropped.  I have to go all the time.  No joke.  I’m up and heading to the bathroom every 30-40 minutes.  The urge is horrible.  It’s started waking me up at night but luckily it’s only once a night.  Running has been fun as well since I often feel as though I need to go right now.  I don’t but the extra pressure down there is really messing with those signals to the brain.
  • Insomnia – Ha, this is gone.  I sleep when I can.  I usual crash at night and have started taking a nap a few times a week when I feel especially overrun.  Most of the time I get enough sleep at night but there have been one or two cat naps the past week because I just needed to crash for a moment.
  • Fatigue – The nesting bug has hit me hard and fast!  I got some unbelievable spurts of energy that lasted all last week and is still running in high gear this week.  I’ve been cleaning like a maniac.  In one 5-day period I got all three floors of our townhouse dusted, vacuumed, mopped, and tidied up.  I sanitized all 4 bathrooms.  I even freaking washed my sofa seat covers.  Baby-wise, I got my hospital bag completely packed, got the pack and play up, got diapers in order, and washed the swing, rocker, car seat, diaper bags, baby carrier, and thick blankets I needed to wash.  It’s insane how much I got done…and I’m not through yet!  I’ve been working on catching up on my home decor, cross-stitch, the baby book for Baby J, and printing photos to hang in our house.  I just have to do something every day.  Our daughter is basking in this energy because we’ve done a lot of playing and gone on quite a few outings as a result.  I love this energy but I’m so not ready for the impending crash, lol.
  • Backache/pelvic pain – Since the baby dropped, my back hasn’t bothered me too much.  Sitting up will make it ache a bit and walking for long periods of time (anything over 30 minutes) causes a dull ache.  My pelvis is starting to hurt in the symphysis joint again.  It’s not severe like it was with SPD but it’s enough to make me wince a bit.  The pressure from the baby is what’s causing it so it’ll probably stick around until he’s born.
  • Fetal movement – Now that he’s out of my ribs, the jabs don’t bother me as much.  He’s taken to push out his back/butt into my belly button which just feels weird.  There have been a few hard jabs but nothing crazy.  He’s been hiccuping a ton as well.  I’m starting to notice he like to move a lot mid-morning and at night around bedtime.  It’s been quite interesting to see the pattern.
  • Braxton-Hicks contractions – I get these daily with a few legitimately painful ones.  Nothing is ever constant with them, though, and they usually stop within an hour.
  • Appetite decrease – I can eat now!  It’s awesome to actually eat a regular-sized meal and not be hungry 30 minutes later.  Heartburn has gone away as well so I’m a happy camper right now =).
  • Aversions/nausea – No real nausea now unless I go too long without eating.  I still have quite a few aversions and sometimes find it hard to pick something to eat.  Nothing sounds good lately.
  • Cramps – These have gotten worse.  Usually they go hand in hand with the BH contractions.  Ugh.  The joys of approaching the due date.
  • Shortness of breath – I can breathe again!  Too bad I had to exchange it for my ability to run comfortably…

36 weeks – I look refreshed but thats only due to good makeup application, lol.


Cravings:

  • Iced herbal tea (my current favorite is Teavana Raspberry Limeade)
  • Cheese
  • Water (flat and carbonated)
  • Coke
  • Fruit smoothies
  • Izze drinks
  • Salads
  • Rice

Aversions:

  • Eggs
  • Pancakes/waffles/french toast
  • Any breakfast items (cereals, bagels, etc)
  • Hot and iced coffee
  • Oatmeal
  • Meat
  • Any sweet breakfast pastries or sweet breads

Weight Gain:  17 pounds.  I’m actually putting on weight now!  My OB is happy with the progress, lol.  I’m surprisingly okay with it.  The end is near so I know I shouldn’t expect a huge jump anyway.  I’ll be alright =).

Whoa belly! Before it actually dropped.


Running

I’ve officially completed 8 months of streaking!  I can’t believe how quickly that came.  I’m hoping to continue until d-day but I know that may not happen.  Last week running was not pleasant at all.  With the baby dropping, the pressure in my pelvis has increased tremendously.  It’s been causing pelvic pain to flare up whenever I go past the 1 mile mark in my runs.  My round ligament has also just now started bothering me during my run.  His lying low is straining it now.  Although I can now breathe in a lot better, I can’t pick up my pace.  In fact, my pace has slowed a bit because the nerve pain I’ve been experiencing flares up when I move faster.  Running has gotten even more frustrating now because I’m physically getting uncomfortable with it, something I was blessed in avoiding up until this point.  Still, I make it a point to get out there and try to get a run down.  Whether it’s 1 mile or 3, I’m happy with what I get in.

I had an OB appointment yesterday.  I have them weekly now and they’re more of a nuisance than anything because they’re always the same: check BP, check baby’s HR, check fundal growth, ask if anything is wrong.  I’m glad to have them because when I was seen at the military clinic last time I was lucky to get any attention.  However, now it’s a bit annoying because things come up like the fundal growth.  Apparently baby boy is measuring 2 weeks behind externally.  The OB said it may very well be because he dropped even lower than he was last time.  However, since she can’t be sure she’d rather be safe than sorry and is sending me for another growth ultrasound.  Blegh.  I know most moms would be thrilled to see baby again on the screen.  I, however, just want to get through this pregnancy and can wait until he arrives to see him again.  It’s yet again another 40-50 minute drive to the hospital for this US (one way, by the way).

I am very happy things are going well, though.  I’m starting to wonder if baby boy will make it to 40 weeks at this point.  I’ve been having a lot more contractions and cramps right now than I did with our daughter.  Whenever he does make it here, it’ll be surreal.  I don’t think it’s quite hit me that he’ll be here soon.  Lol, I guess that first time mom excitement is long gone this time =).

Leave a Reply

