Running Week Summary: 24AUG2015 – 30AUG2015

Everyone, I have officially reached 8 full months of streaking!  I can’t believe it’s been that long.  It’s really flown by quickly.  There have been a lot of ups and downs when it’s come to my running but I stuck with it and didn’t give up.  Now that I’m two-thirds of the way done, the goal to reach a year seem completely possible…pending baby’s arrival, of course, and how long my hospital stay will be.  I’ll seriously slow jog laps around the nurses station if I have to, lol.

In all seriousness, I’ll be glad with just 8 months of streaking.  I set the goal before I found out I was expecting.  It’s a nice one to have but it’s not a life-or-death goal because there’s always next year or picking up right after things settle down.  My new son and my daughter are going to be a lot more important than maintaining a superficial goal.

As for this past week, it was one interesting week.  As much as I’d like to break it down day by day like I have in the past, I’ve realized how dull and really unnecessary it is because nothing is changing and it’s the same boring summary every day.  I’ll pick back up to recapping each day when I’m following a plan again.  For now, I’ll just hit some important points for this week.

  • Running became excruciating suddenly on Sunday, August 23rd.  I was used to the lightning pain I was starting to get but suddenly the nerve pain in my left leg materialized.  I blew it off as just a result of running 3 miles the day before.  Turns out it wasn’t something that was going to go away quickly.  Either Saturday or Sunday baby boy dropped down lower into my pelvis.  I realized this when I started noticing the increased pressure in my pelvis and the fact that my ribs didn’t hurt, I could breathe again, and I could eat more than a toddler’s portion of food.  Though I welcome the latter, it made running slightly unbearable.  I could push my pace at all without bringing on the crippling nerve pain and any time I went over 1 mile it my pelvis would feel like it was on fire.  I was really bummed.  I took it as easy as I could and managed distances due to taking walk breaks, something I hate to do.  The breaks have helped, however, so I’m not going to ditch them anymore.
  • Muscle fatigue has started to set in quicker now.  One mile feels like hell sometimes.  The increasing belly size is really starting to wear on my body so I find myself having to turn to the elliptical to finish cardio.  I’ve also found myself needing to decrease my weekly mileage.  Dropping that mid week 3 miler did wonders for my muscle recovery.  I’m not quite ready to drop that distance entirely so I kept the Saturday one as long as I’m feeling up to it.  Cutting back really sucks but I knew it was inevitable.
  • Weight training has been excellent.  Despite not being able to do squats and some leg presses, I’ve been able to find other ways to keep up my weight lifting.  I don’t do much as I wasn’t a weight lifter to begin with but apparently I do just enough for people to notice.  My maternity photographer complimented me on how nicely defined my muscles were for being so far along.  I guess I’m doing something right =)
  • Keeping up with all the exercise has left me feeling energized rather than tired at this point.  I remember feeling a lot more beat last time at this point.  By then I had dropped to working out only 3 times a day.  I was also working full time, though, so I was getting worn out a lot quicker those days.  Now I’ve had the luxury and flexibility to fit in all my workouts during the week so I can keep up the 7 days/week deal.  I’m glad I have been, too, because I feel great and have been able to enjoy things like walking at the state fair this past weekend.  Another plus?  No swelling.  None.  I don’t even get any after being on my feet for a long period of time.  Back aches, sure, but not swelling.  I’m so happy about that.

So, now being in the 36th week I can’t help but be happy that I’m lucky enough to still be moving.  I’m hoping to “run this baby out” to the end.  I’m going to remain positive that it’ll happen.  I’ve got to keep the right attitude about it if I want it to happen =).

Leave a Reply

