Pregnancy: Weeks 33 & 34

It’s that time for another one of these pregnancy recaps.  Technically, if I get to the full 40 weeks, there’s only 3 more of these left. How crazy is that?

33 Weeks


Symptoms:

  • Frequent urination – This isn’t too bad at night now.  Every couple of days I need to get up around 4 AM to use the bathroom, but other than that I find myself sleeping through the night uninterrupted.  I go a ton during the day but I’ve come to realize my kegels must be very strong.  I can hold it like no one’s business, lol.
  • Insomnia – Haven’t had an issue sleeping anymore.  In fact, I nap during the day as well.  I get so tired very easily nowadays that I don’t fight sleep anymore.
  • Fatigue – I’m exhausted all the time now.  No amount of sleep or rest seems to ease it.  It’s made my husband’s weekends at work harder on me.  Taking care of our daughter plus the household is starting to wear on me faster.  I’ve even found myself struggling to get into my runs lately.  I think the physical toll of a growing body is finally catching up to me.  Boy, will a newborn make everything interesting.
  • Backache/pelvic pain – My back has been aching a lot more.  I need to wear my support belt every day, especially if I’m going out to run errands.  The pain can get physically draining which is so not helping my fatigue.  I haven’t had any constant pelvic pain the last 2 weeks.  However, I have had 2 or 3 instances of lightning which is not fun at all.
  • Fetal movement – Lots of rolling going on still.  There’s a lot of pushing up towards my ribs which makes me super uncomfortable and can be painful at time.  I’m looking forward to him dropping to relieve the pressure he’s been putting in that area.
  • Braxton-Hicks contractions – These feel like they’ve picked up in the last 2 weeks.  I get them on my upper belly now.  I’ve had a few that I’ve actually had to breathe through.  They aren’t painful just very uncomfortable.
  • Appetite decrease – Still an issue.  I can’t eat as much and if I eat too much for lunch, dinner is usually no go for me.  I’m still having issues with weight gain, though, so I have been forcing myself to snack or at least try to eat something at meal times.
  • Aversions/nausea – My nausea has gotten better.  I haven’t had it as badly the last 2 weeks.  My aversions are strong, though.  I haven’t stomached any “normal” breakfast foods lately.  Fruit smoothies are the only things that sound appetizing so I’ve been cleaning out our kitchen of its fresh and frozen fruits.  At least I can pump up the calorie content on those easily to make up for the lack of food throughout the day.
  • Cramps – These happen quite often.  It can get pretty uncomfortable.  It makes me sad to think they’ll just increase in the coming weeks.
  • Shortness of breath – This hasn’t gotten any worse.  Stairs still really suck.

34 weeks – Feeling pretty good that day

Cravings:

  • Iced herbal tea (my current favorite is Teavana Raspberry Limeade)
  • Cheese
  • Plums & peaches
  • Water (flat and carbonated)
  • Coke
  • Fruit smoothies
  • Carbonated juice drinks (Izzie drinks, to be exact)

Aversions:

  • Eggs
  • Pancakes/waffles/french toast
  • Any breakfast items (cereals, bagels, etc)
  • Hot and iced coffee
  • Cookies, ice cream, cake
  • Oatmeal
  • Meat
  • Any sweet breakfast pastries or sweet breads

Weight Gain:  15 pounds.  My weight gain has been fluctuating between 13 and 15 pounds.  There’s been no definite increase.  My OB assured me that things do look good (I even measured on schedule last appointment).  She’s not happy with the lack of weight gain, though.  She said I should gain 30 pounds total for this entire pregnancy.  That both shocked and scared me as it sounds like a lot.  I do understand that I was underweight to begin with.  However, that’s probably not going to happen so she’s happy as long as baby is growing and I’m eating regularly.

Exercise is starting to get a little tiring

Running

Still lacing up my running shoes!  Unlike my last update, though, my comfort during running has changed slightly.  I’m experiencing more lightning because of the baby sitting low in my pelvis.  My bladder ache is a lot more pronounced now and the feeling of having to pee doesn’t go away anymore.  My back starts to ache as well if I run downhill.  These discomforts aren’t fun but I’m just glad I haven’t had any SPD symptoms to date.  That is a huge milestone for me.

Fatigue has been setting in after exercise.  Some mornings I wake up worn out from the day before.  I’ve cut back a bit on my exercise by dropping the elliptical workouts I did on Tuesdays and Thursdays.  I’m toying with my distance on the weekends but have kept my 3 miler in place on Saturdays.  It’s pretty obvious to me that I’ll only be decreasing in distance and intensity the further I get in this pregnancy.

Maternity shots!

Loved working with both these photographers!

Last week I had the opportunity to be a maternity model for a photographer who was trying to expand her portfolio.  I had already booked her for my maternity shoot at the end of the month, but since it’s a mini shoot I thought this would be a great opportunity to get some extra shoot time.  She was looking to expand her studio portfolio by doing some nude shots as well, and given that I had done them for my first pregnancy I had no issues volunteering and trying out poses she wanted.  She was grateful I was open to it and it was a lot of fun to shoot.  My daughter even got in on some photos while I was wearing that white outfit above.  After this shoot, I’m greatly looking forward to the shoot at the end of the month!

She posted a few of the artistic maternity photos on her Facebook page as well.  If you’re in Maryland you should really check her out.  Her prices are reasonable and she was so much fun to work with!

I’m preparing myself for baby as best as I can now.  I have my hospital bag packed and have all the newborn/0-3 month clothing washed.  The only real vital thing I lack is a bassinet but we’ll get that in time.  I’m very excited for his arrival and can barely stand to wait because I really want him here now.  I’m also very grateful because I’ll only have to deal with one diapered bum.  It appears my daughter has finally potty trained so I no longer have to fret about that while caring for a newborn.  You have no idea how much of a weight that is off of my shoulders (it’s been 6 months since we first started!).  Everything just feels like it’s finally falling into place =).

Leave a Reply

