Running Week Summary: 22JUL2015 – 26JUL2015


Short post for today.  Since my last recap ended on the Tuesday, I’ll start off on Wednesday for this week’s recap

Wednesday’s run went fairly well.  We were back home so it was back to running in our neighborhood.  A storm had rolled through during the night so it was refreshingly dry that morning.  It was in the low 70s so running felt like bliss.  I felt pretty good during the entire run and didn’t feel any aches at all.  I did have the usual bladder pains but didn’t have to make a pit stop at all during the run.

Thursday I woke up instantly to a serious cramp in my right calf.  The past few times when I’ve felt one coming on I’ve been able to stop it by flexing my foot.  I didn’t catch this one on time.  Needless to say, I spent about a minute bracing myself through the pain.  The one silver lining to it was that it woke me up fully about a minute before my alarm was going to go off.  I rubbed my calf for a bit then went out for my run.  I was worried about how I’d feel during the run because after the cramp occurred my calf was pretty sore.  Luckily, my calf didn’t cause any pain during the run.  The muscle did feel a bit stiff and heavy, though, even after I had warmed up.  I knew this wasn’t going to be a “fast” run so I just focused on completing my distance.  It wasn’t the most pleasant run but it was completed nonetheless.

Friday my calf felt even more tender than it had the day before.  I was glad that this day only called for a mile because during the run my calf was pretty achy.  I stretched it out as best as I could afterwards and then focused on my upper body for my weight workout.  I didn’t want to irritate the muscle anymore so I didn’t want to work my legs that day.

Saturday my leg was feeling a lot better.  It was a little sore in the cramp site but only if I tried to massage it.  This day’s run was interesting.  I felt pretty good during the first two miles.  I was able to keep my pace under 10 minutes without any issues.  However, once I started on the 3rd mile I started to feel some fatigue set in.  My calves and hamstrings suddenly felt overworked and heavy.  When I reached 3.5 miles I got a pretty sharp side stitch that caused me to stop and try to breathe/stretch it out.  My lower back was also starting to ache a bit.  By the time I got back to my house, my legs felt as though they were weighed down by lead.  It’s been a while since I’ve had that kind of fatigue in my legs.  Those last 2 miles were pretty uncomfortable and really made me reconsider continuing to run 4 miles for one day a week.  Maybe this distance was starting to wear on my body more now that I was further along?  It wasn’t the first time this week that I’d felt a bit more fatigued than usual after a run.

Sunday’s run felt completely different from the one the day before.  I fully expected that I would feel the fatigue again, possibly even sooner since I had run a longer distance the day before.  I was wrong.  I actually felt excellent during this run.  Not once did a single muscle in my body hurt.  My bladder didn’t even bother me.  I did get a mild side stitch halfway through but it went away rather quickly and I didn’t have to stop to relieve it.  I was happy to see that I was able to keep the last 2 miles below 9:30 and average the pace that I did.  It’s days like this that make me wonder if today was a fluke or Saturday’s run was just a bad day.

Paces were slightly all over the place this week.  I was definitely slower overall.  Still, I’m happy to report that other than the bad calf cramp I haven’t felt any serious pain in my body.  I still feel pretty darn good while I run.  As the due date approaches, I am so glad to feel as good as I do while I run.  I might just make it to my delivery day still running!

Leave a Reply

