Pregnancy: Weeks 29 & 30

Gah!  There are 10 more weeks left in this pregnancy (give or take a week or two).  I got here super fast!  Definitely not as prepared as I was with my daughter.  I blame that on first baby excitement.  I’m super excited about this baby as well, don’t get me wrong.  I just realize that I don’t have to buy Every.Single.Baby.Item.  Parenting really does change your perspective with baby #2, lol.

IMG_3365

29 Weeks – Feeling like my belly finally popped noticeably.

Symptoms:

  • Frequent urination – Of course this hasn’t let up.  Baby is just getting bigger and pushing down even more.  I have come to realize that if I don’t go I’ll get some serious Braxton-Hicks.  I’ve just made it a habit to go every 1-2 hours.  I feel like I’m on my toddler’s potty training schedule, lol.
  • Insomnia – This has gotten a lot better but I think that has something to do with some changes I made to my daily routine.  I get up with my husband now (5 AM) and work out in the morning.  We head to bed at the same time as before except now I’m actually tired when I get to the bed.
  • Fatigue – I feel more run down at the end of the day.  That doesn’t surprise me considering I am pretty active during the day with all the housework and spending time with my daughter.
  • Backache/pelvic pain – I get some serious symphysis pain when I sit for long periods of time or on the floor.  I tend to sit on a pillow to help with the pain.  I’ve been getting crampy aches a few times in my back and lower abdomen but nothing too serious.  I’ve gotten slight pain when I first start my run but nothing that really sticks around after the first 5 minutes.
  • Fetal movement – Still kicking me pretty well in just my right side.  Sometimes it’s been painful but for the most part it hasn’t been too much of a nuisance.  I got the baby to move to music the other day which was entertaining.  Baby’s also getting hiccups a lot.  It’s a funny feeling and I can tell where the head is thanks to them.
  • Braxton-HIcks contractions – I still get them every once in a while.  I’ve noticed they occur when I stand up from sitting as well.  I find it funny how random the triggers are.
  • Appetite decrease – My appetite still isn’t great.  Baby portions are what get me through the day.  I do get a bit annoyed that I can’t eat a normal portion because I dislike having to snack throughout the day (I am not a snacker).  However, the few times I have forced myself to eat a full portion I’ve had some bad acid reflux.  Lesson learned.
  • Aversions/nausea – Nausea tends to happen if I go too long without eating.  Aversions still are pretty strong and some food still make me sick to my stomach just thinking about them.
11754792_1593647614221040_1216267633583675899_o

30 weeks! 10 more to go!

Cravings:

  • Iced coffee with soy milk
  • Cheese
  • Chilled swiss oats
  • Cereal with ice cold milk
  • Water
  • Sour slushies from Royal Farms
  • Double cheeseburgers from McDonalds
  • Club sandwiches

Aversions:

  • Hot coffee
  • Most sweets with chocolate in them
  • Oatmeal
  • Breakfast sandwiches
  • Any sweet breakfast pastries

Weight Gain:  15 pounds total

IMG_3315

Finally got my RunGo ambassador shirt =)

Running

Still getting out there and running strong!  My pace, however, has taken a hit and I feel as though my stamina is waning as well.  I’ve noticed a 30-60 second drop in my average pace over the last few weeks.  I’ve also had a huge drop in motivation to continue running more than 3 miles.  A lot of the pace issues and lack in motivation have to do with the fact that I constantly get side stitches on my runs.  I can’t seem to breathe in enough air to prevent them lately.  It drags because I’ve tried several time to breathe through them without stopping.  I have to stop eventually, though, because that doesn’t help anymore.  I haven’t had side cramps in years so this is kind of shocking to experience.  I hate having to stop but it’s the only thing that makes them go away now.  Oh, well.

My body has been getting easily fatigued during exercise as well.  I think this 15 pound “vest” I’m carrying around is finally catching up to me.  I’m finding even an easy elliptical workout to be really tiring.  I’ve had to move my workouts to the morning because I’ve been getting more fatigued as the day wears on.  By the time my evening run came around, I could barely muster the energy to start it.  It’s been easier to keep up with my workouts now that they’re in the morning so I’ll probably continue on this schedule until delivery.  The cooler weather in the morning has been a plus as well =)

It’s a…

906004_10207318434659984_913664025596254470_o

Boy!  We finally told our families the gender.  My husband wanted to be creative with telling them rather than just informing them over the phone.  He decided that we should send our mothers a bear from Build-A-Bear with boy-centric clothing.  Nothing at BAB screamed “It’s a boy” so I ended up getting some gently used onesies from Once Upon a Child to dress the bears.  They got them last week and opened them up when we called them.  It’s kind of nice to have them know now because they can stop pestering us about gender and I can stop hearing all about my mom’s predictions about why she thinks it’s a boy/girl.  I love my culture but its tendency to revolve around old wives’ tales/speculations on “feelings”/dreams is annoying, especially when it comes to pregnancy.

We have chosen a name for the baby.  I guess I might refer to him as Baby J from now on here since I haven’t really publicized the name we chose.  Our families know but that’s about it.  We did decide to go with a name other than my husband’s and making Baby J a “fourth”.  I wasn’t too keen on keeping the family name and thankfully my husband agreed early on as well.  I’m not sure how his family will take it but hopefully I won’t get too much grief over it.  Traditions can be a bit of a touchy subject in some families and his family seems to be sensitive to those kinds of things.

I’m kind of shocked at how close we are to September.  I’m pretty ready right now to get Baby J out but that’s mainly because I’m over being uncomfortable.  I’m also so beyond ready to run sans pregnant belly.  I miss my distances and being able to push hard during runs.  I kind of groan at the thought of how much more uncomfortable I’ll be getting.  I feel as though my insides are pretty compressed already and it’s only going to get worse!  I’d love to be able to sit on my couch without having to move around constantly to find a comfortable position.

We have a 3-D ultrasound scheduled for this Sunday.  It’ll be fun to get a sneak peek at what Baby J looks like.  Other baby related things that are coming up are my maternity photos and getting the basic baby things ready (clothes washed and car seat cleaned).  I’ve gotten through some of the clothing prep and have thankfully bagged all of Izzy’s old clothing in preparation for a huge purge.  It’s so liberating getting rid of all that clothes.  There are still things I need to get for the baby like wipes and probably more clothes but I’m not too concerned about it.  My father has graciously offered to buy us the stroller we’re looking to get.  He originally offered to buy me the Silver Cross pram I’ve been drooling over but I refused to allow him to break the bank like that!  I had suggested a used one that was way more reasonably priced but he responded with a “no grandson of mine will be riding in a used stroller”.  I love my father, lol.  I’m seriously okay with used strollers (my current BOB was a used one) but he refuses to budge on this.  I’m seriously blessed that my parents are so generous.  I’m super excited for this stroller, though, because it has so many outdoor options.  It’ll definitely be one we use for years even after the stroller ages.

Leave a Reply

