Pregnancy: Weeks 25 & 26

Things are starting to get uncomfortable already!

 

25 weeks – wearing regular tops now that the baby bump is more noticeable rather than it looking like a gut. 

Symptoms:

  • Frequent urination – No change.  Still have to go all the time.
  • Insomnia – This has gotten a lot better thankfully.  I did break out the Snoogle (a pregnancy pillow) last week and I’ve been sleeping a lot better as a result.  It’s helped relieve how uncomfortable I’ve felt while lying down.
  • Fatigue – It still fluctuates.  I have good days and bad days.  I’ve been trying to take it easier and that’s helped greatly.
  • Backache/pelvic pain – I had some horrendous sciatic nerve pain the last two weeks.  Twice, I was unable to walk or move for about 30 minutes.  It was horrifying.  I ended up getting a physical therapy referral from my OB because she was concerned with how early and intense the pain was.  I’m so glad she suggested something because when I brought this up during my first pregnancy, I was told it was just because the baby was straining my back and I should take Tylenol (thanks, military medicine!).  My pelvis hasn’t been feeling too bad.  If I lie on my side without a pillow between my legs it will feel like it slips out of alignment which isn’t pleasant.  There have been a few time where there’s just been some achy pressure there that makes me super uncomfortable.  It hasn’t been bothering me on runs, though, unless I’m on the treadmill.  I’m pretty happy with how it’s holding up.  I wish my back would follow its lead, lol.
  • Fetal movement – The kicks are getting stronger and more prevalent.  They make me so uncomfortable.  Baby has taken to kicking and sticking his/her feet in my ribs.  Not fun.  I’m surprised at how miserable the movements makes me.  I loved them early on in my first pregnancy.  This time, not so much…
  • Braxton-HIcks contractions – These have slowed down a bit finally.  I still get about 5-6 a day but nothing as intense or as long as the previous weeks.
  • Acid reflux – This has calmed down a lot.  I think it has a lot to do with the smaller meals I eat now.
  • Appetite decrease – This has not been fun.  I’ve gone from eating normal food portions to half of what a normal serving is.  Baby’s really taking up a lot of room now.  I didn’t realize how far up baby was until my OB appointment this past Monday.  The fundus sits right under my lowest rib.  As a result, there isn’t much room in my stomach for food.  This backfires in that within an hour or two after a meal I’m starving again.  I’ve taken to snacking between each meal and once after dinner.
  • Aversions/nausea – This has come back with a vengeance.  Nothing sounds good.  Some things make me nauseous.  I had one instance where I ate a food I wasn’t feeling but I needed to eat something and I ended up puking it back up.  It’s frustrating because I’m often very hungry but can’t pinpoint anything I’m willing to eat.  I usually end up with a salad or just forcing some sort of food down my throat.

 

26 weeks – Still carrying small. Found out this day I could still fit in my regular jeans. 

Cravings:

  • Coke
  • Fig bars
  • Chilled swiss oats
  • Nuts – specifically cashews, pistachios, and almonds.
  • Pistachio and vanilla bean ice cream
  • Avocado smoothies/ice cream
  • Cornbread pancakes
  • Steak

Aversions:

  • Almost everything not listed above.

 

Post run. I’m loving these Old Navy Active tops. They’re long enough in the front that I don’t have the issue of my shirt riding up and my belly peeking out. 

Weight Gain: 12 pounds.  Slowly gaining and that makes me happy =)

Maternity clothes: They’re still too large for me.  I found out the other day that I still fit into my low-rise bottoms.  This was a relief because I don’t have many shorts and really didn’t want to buy more.  It’s kind of funny to me that I can still button up my pre-pregnancy jeans.  Last pregnancy I couldn’t get them on after 15 weeks.  I did start off somewhat lighter and in better shape this time around so that may have something to do with that.  I’ve switched back to all my regular tops because I feel ridiculous in my maternity ones.

 

Rowing, one of my favorite strengthening exercises =)

Running: Oh, running.  I’m still getting out there and getting at least a mile.  It’s become harder to breathe as I run.  Baby is starting to press up on my diaphragm and I’ve definitely been noticing it more and more the last 2 weeks.  I don’t feel like I get enough oxygen into my lungs and as a result I tend to get side stitches a lot.  Comfort-wise, running feels great.  I feel super slow, like I’m trudging through mud.  It’s so disappointing to me because I feel like I can run so much faster but my body just won’t let me.  The Braxton Hicks have calmed down quite a bit, thankfully.  I’ve been increasing my water intake so I think that might be helping a lot.

I’ve started trading some miles for time on the elliptical or in the pool.  I’ve found that 4 miles has been quite tiring for my body.  Because of that, I cut back my mileage so that my longest run of the week is 4 miles, 2 days are 3 miles, 2 days are 2 miles, and 2 days are active recovery days with 1-2 miles in there depending on how I feel that day.  I supplement the non-recovery and non-long run days with cross-training on the elliptical or pool.  I’ve felt so much better after taking this schedule on last week.  I’m not nearly as tired at the end of the day and don’t wake up completely worn out.  I hate to cut back on distance because I really do love to run (I enjoy the solitude) but I know I need to do what’s best for my body.  I don’t want to risk injury from trying to push harder than I should/feel like I can.

Turns out I don’t have another race until September 19th.  I was a little sad to see that.  I’ve been debating a virtual run for the 4th of July or signing up for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Gold Jacket 5K on the 12th.  I kind of really want a finisher’s medal because I miss them. The Pro Bowl run has a nice one but the issue is that it takes place the morning of my daughter’s 3rd birthday party.  Theoretically, I can make it to the race and get back in time to get ready for the party.  However, it would be really rushed and cutting it close time-wise.  I think I’m going to sign up for the virtual run instead, the RWB Firecracker 4-Miler.  We’ll see, though, because I haven’t really decided.

I can’t believe I’m almost at the 3rd trimester!  This pregnancy has definitely flown by!

Leave a Reply

