Pregnancy: Weeks 23 & 24

2 more weeks down, so many more to go…

  

23 weeks

Symptoms:

  • Frequent urination – Let’s just say I go all the time.  I’d clock it at about every 2-3 hours.  It’s obnoxious throughout the day.  What’s worse is that I won’t feel the urge then suddenly I have to go.  I’ve been careful about not letting my bladder get too full because it triggers Braxton-Hicks contractions.  Plus, the baby is now pushing down on it which results in some incontinence if I do something like sneeze or jump on a trampoline (lol, yes, I said trampoline).
  • Insomnia – I have some bad nights with this.  I’ve learned to give up forcing myself to sleep and just accepting that the next day is going to be a long one.  Strangely, I do okay the days after I lack sleep.  I don’t feel the urge to nap and sometimes I feel energized.  I think I’m going insane, lol.
  • Fatigue – This come and goes.  I’ve had huge spurts of nesting energy but tend to “crash” the next day from them.  I’ve notice if I do too much one day it affects the next day.  Oddly enough, some days I start off exhausted but end on a high note with tons of energy.  I have noticed that I get easily fatigued doing some things that usually come easily for me, like climbing our stairs or picking up messes.
  • Backache/pelvic pain – I seem to be having more issues with my back than my pelvis lately.  I’ve had to use my maternity support belt more often the last 2 weeks.  It seems my usual routine for housework is starting to aggravate my back a lot.  I find that the usual 1-2 hours I do every day causes me to retreat to the coach for longer period of time trying to rest my back.  I had a few bad bouts of sciatic pain which can pretty much bench me for most of the day.  Putting a pillow between my knees helps alleviate some of the pressure on my back and sleeping with one has become a must at night.
  • Fetal movement – Baby’s kicking up a storm all the time.  It gets quite painful at times.  I don’t remember my first pregnancy being so painful in regard to kicks.  This baby seems to love to trash about with all its might.  It makes me uncomfortable which only causes me to groan at the thought that they’ll just get stronger as the pregnancy goes on.  I have found myself wondering if the kicks are just gas, too.  Lol, given how bad that issue has been this pregnancy I’m not surprised.
  • Braxton-HIcks contractions – These suck tremendously.  I get them every day.  If I’m on my feet a lot they stick around for a long time.  I get a few sometimes when I run as well.  There have been a few days where I seem to get a ton in a few short hours.  I’m trying to figure out if something in particular is aggravating them but have had no luck.  I haven’t done anything particularly strenuous lately to blame it on.  However, they haven’t become regular and super frequent so I’m not too worried that they’re anything to run to the ER about.  It’s quite odd to feel how hard my stomach gets when they happen.  My husband laughs because sometimes they cause my stomach to look lopsided.
  • Leg cramps – These have ceased.  Thank God.
  • Acid reflux – This has been a pain lately.  If I do something as simple as bending over to pick up something it hits me.  I find it rather annoying since it occurs hours after I ingest something.  Seriously.

 

24 weeks

Cravings:

  • Sushi
  • Pizza
  • Smoothies/fruit
  • Pastries
  • Cafe au lait
  • Sparkling and flat water
  • Chips
  • Vanilla coke

Aversions:

  • It changes.  Some days I absolutely hate chocolate and can’t stand the sight of it.  Lately sweets have been limited because although I can eat it sometimes, if I have just a little I can’t bear to finish it.

Weight Gain: 10 pounds so far.  My mind’s been put at ease since gains haven’t been fast/large.

Maternity clothes: Still don’t fill them out quite yet.  I’ve started wearing some of my regular, longer tops because I’m getting sick of my limited maternity top selection.


Running: Still running fairly pain-free.  This makes me happy since with my first I was approaching my threshold for pain while running.  I quit sometime shortly have 25 weeks.  I don’t see that happening any time soon.  The last two weeks I’ve completed 20 and 18 miles a week respectively.  Braxton-Hicks have become quite common during longer distances or if I start off at a pace that’s too fast for me.  Pace has settled a bit at 8:30.  I did have one good day where I ran fairly quickly outdoors.  I negative split the entire run and had started at 9:00/mile.  I felt amazing and sort of like my old self again, lol.  I’ve been taking on swimming as well.  Sometimes my body just doesn’t feel up to running but I don’t want to take an “easy recovery” day again.  I usually opt for the elliptical since we have no spin bikes but I’m not a huge fan of ellipticals.  Now that our pool is open, I’ve been opting to swim when I think I can’t get through more than a mile.  It’s worked out great.  Swimming really kick my butt so I still feel as though I’m getting a workout.

Leave a Reply

