Pregnancy: Weeks 19 & 20

Time for the 2 week update!  A few things have happened but not much has changed.  Still running, still having cravings, but I think I’m now showing a little!

FullSizeRender(26)19 weeks


Symptoms:

  • Morning sickness/nausea – Finally gone!
  • Frequent urination – This seems to have settled down a bit during the night. I don’t wake up at all unless I decided to drink a bunch of water before bed.  During the day it can get ridiculous, though.  It seems as though I need to go every time I start to run as well, even if I did go right before I started.
  • Increased thirst – This has calmed down a bit as well.  Sometimes I feel super parched and nothing quenches it, but that doesn’t happen too often.
  • Insomnia – So, so glad this isn’t bothering me anymore.  I’ve been able to fall asleep quickly the past two weeks.  I’ve been feeling more exhausted lately so that may have something to do with it.
  • Flatulence –  I’m pretty sure this will be around for the rest of the pregnancy…
  • Fatigue – I’ve been feeling pretty good the last 2 weeks.  However, sometimes when I go through an entire day without resting a little I feel it the next day.  This past Thursday was such a day.  The few days before I had been doing all sorts of activities with my daughter outdoors.  There was a lot of walking/sun time and by the time Thursday came I was beat.  I passed out once on the couch during her nap and pretty much crashed as soon as I went to bed.  That was some intense fatigue.  I do tend to feel a bit rundown by the end of the day, but for the most part I’m not too exhausted.
  • Backache/pelvic pain – I’ve been having a bit of sciatic pain lately.  It tends to get aggravated when I run without my belly belt.  The same goes for the pelvic pain.  Thankfully, because I have been using the belt, I’ve felt great during runs in regards to those aches.  That’s huge for me since during this time in my last pregnancy my runs would leave me hurting for the entire day.  I also find that sitting on the hard floor makes my back pain worse so I don’t sit there too often unless there’s a pillow under me.
  • Fetal movement – The baby felt like s/he slowed down a bit with movements.  I felt them but not quite as much as I had the previous 2 weeks.  It wasn’t until this past weekend that I’ve definitely felt more and more rolls and punches/kicks.  We can now feel the movement from the outside which is kind of fun. I noticed we could feel the movements at about 18.5 weeks.  This is about 4 weeks earlier than I felt them with our daughter.  It still blows my mind how quickly things happen this time around.

Cravings:

  • Fried pickles
  • Spicy (any) food
  • Fruit (fresh and frozen) and smoothies
  • Fruit teas
  • Raisin bran (this one is rather specific)
  • Sparkling and flat water
  • Pho

Aversions:

  • Coffee or warm, sweet drinks although sometimes I can drink some.
  • Cookies, chocolate, sweets in general, soda
  • Pasta

FullSizeRender(27)20 weeks

Weight Gain: I’ve gained 8 pounds so far.  This time it’s stuck around.  Does this send me into a panic?  Yes.  It’s hard to not let the eating disorder thoughts bother me but they do.  Stepping on the scale at the doctor’s frightens me.  However, my doctor has reassured me that it’s been a healthy gain for this pregnancy.  That helps me push the thoughts asides.

Maternity clothes: Last week I decided to switch over to my maternity bottoms.  What brought this on was that I was wearing some shorts and realized that although I could wear them comfortably while standing, sitting in them for long periods of time made me feel uncomfortable and it felt kind of tight.  I ended up buying a few more bottoms because I didn’t have much to begin with.  I thought I had more bottoms but since I didn’t wear civilian clothes much with my last pregnancy, I didn’t really buy many.  Thankfully, Old Navy had them on sale so now I have enough to get me through this pregnancy.

Running: Still completing about 20-25 miles a week.  I stopped following the training plan for the most part. After a crummy attempt at speed work I realized that my body is probably trying to tell me to give up on the faster paces.  I’ve been averaging anywhere from a 8:15 to a 9:00 pace lately.  I’ve hit the occasional sub-8 but it has been quite rare.  It’s a drag to realize that I’m slowing down but I knew it was coming.  There will be plenty of time to get back to my old paces once the baby is here.  The one thing I do have going for me this time is that I’m still running strong and mostly pain free!

Leave a Reply

