5K Training Plan Week 3: 21MAR2015 – 28MAR2015

Another good week in the books.

Sunday I was supposed to go on my long run.  However, with my husband at drill and having to care for Izzy nonstop for 7 days I was kind of burned out.  We ended up going out to dinner late so by the time we got back I just wasn’t feeling the run.  I decided to take the Monday rest day on Sunday.  I’m kind of glad I did, too, because even with that short run my legs felt kind of like rubber.  I guess my fast 3-miler the day before really did a number on my legs.

Monday I was able to go out and run while it was still light out!  It was an enjoyable run out on the main road.  I noticed that I was a lot quicker than my previous long runs and I thought about pulling back to an 8:30 pace.  However, I just felt so good running at this pace that I decided to just go with it.  I knew I was probably going to pay for it the next day but I didn’t care.  I really wanted to relish in this feel good moment.  Maybe I just do better in the afternoon?  Who knows.  I’ll figure it out next long run since that one will be in the afternoon too.

Tuesday I went for my 3-miler.  I definitely felt the consequences of my faster-than-normal long run this day.  My legs were fatigued and I didn’t hit my usual 7:50 pace until the last mile.  Still, the 8:10 pace wasn’t bad at all and I got to go outside for this run as well.  Running outside makes everything better =).

Wednesday called for speed intervals of 400m x 6 with a half mile warm up and cool down.  I was able to hit 8.0, 8.2, 8.4, 8.6, and 9.0 MPH for each interval and maintain an easy pace of 7.8 with no issues.  By the time I started the last interval I was feeling the burn of this workout.  It really kicked my butt.  Still, I don’t think I’ve ever maintained a 9.0 MPH pace before so this was a new record for me.  Granted it was only for about a quarter of a mile, but it was still amazing to me =).

Thursday was my nice and short recovery run so there’s nothing really to indulge about that run.  Friday was another 3-miler although I wasn’t really into it.  I was just feeling so beat that day and I had somewhat of an inkling that I may be getting a cold.  I dreaded heading out the door but once I was into the groove of things I felt great.  It’s so funny how runs can do that.

Saturday was a 4-miler at easy pace.  I decided to hit the treadmill because I really didn’t look forward to running in the dark and cold that evening.  It went okay and I was able to maintain the 7:40 pace for the entire run.  I did get a bit of a twinge in my stomach during the run but I was able to keep moving without having to slow down or stop.  It wasn’t the most pleasant run but I got through it.

This week felt good.  There’s about 2 weeks until the 5K so I’m thinking I may see some slight improvement at this race.  I’m hoping for a small PR goal, a 7:00 average pace for the entire run.  Given the way things are going I think it may happen =).

Leave a Reply

