5K Training Plan Week 2: 15MAR2015 – 21MAR2015

image

Late post this week.  My husband had drill this past weekend which means it pretty much was a 7 day work week for him.  Those weekends are hard because I don’t get the small weekend break I normally rely on to recharge for the week.  It was busy, busy, busy!  I will never doubt that stay-at-home moms don’t do enough.  This life is a lot harder than I expected =).

Well, back to the running stuff.  This week went pretty well.

Sunday I did my long run for the week at easy pace.  It was gorgeous outside so I was able to run out on the road.  It was nice to once again be able to don a light jacket for a run and not feel too cold.  Spring is definitely upon us and I love not having to wear my heavy duty winter running jackets.  I was able to maintain a pretty even pace for this run and stay close to the targeted easy pace.

Monday was another easy run with weight and core training afterwards.  I took to the outdoors once again because the weather was just lovely.  Maintaining close to an 8 minute pace felt rather easy so I’m not too worried about all the treadmill running I’ve been doing this winter.  Sometimes I feel as though the treadmill slows me down/hold me back when it comes to pace.  I don’t like relying on it to get me to target pace since I don’t get that kind of help in a regular race.  After this run, though, I’m glad to see it’s really not that detrimental to my outdoor running.

Tuesday was a really windy day.  I wasn’t feeling well to boot so I was worried about my run for that day.  I seriously debated cutting it down to a mile or two since I wasn’t feeling 100%.  However, when it came time to lace up my shoes and head out the door I decided to just go for it.  I was more than happy to see how quickly I was running and that I didn’t feel worse during the run.  It actually made me feel so much better.  I’m kind of curious how much faster my pace would have been if it wasn’t for the wind.  I was running into the wind for a full mile and definitely felt it eat up my speed.  Still, 7:59 isn’t too shabby!

Wednesday was tempo day!  I started with a simple 5 minute warm up at 7.5 MPH then pushed to 8.0 MPH for my tempo pace.  I ran at tempo for 20 minutes then followed it with a 5 minute cool down at 7.5 MPH.  I was pleasantly surprised to feel challenged by the 8 MPH but not overworked.  Since it felt decent to run at that pace, I’ll probably be starting my interval paces for this week at something higher than 7.5.

I switched my recovery day to Thursday this week because I had therapy that afternoon.  It was short, sweet, and slow but I definitely felt the fatigue from the work I put in the day before.  Friday was a late day so I took my run to the treadmill.  I set myself to run the 3 miles at 7.8 MPH and felt great at that pace.  As a result, I’m going to just start my baseline pace on the treadmill at 7.8 rather than 7.5 from now on.  This way I’m challenging myself a bit more.  I’m probably due to step up the pace anyway.  I’ve been running at 7.5 for well over a month now.

Saturday called for a fast 3 miles.  I decided to try this run outside as I wanted to see what “fast” was for me without the help of a treadmill.  I definitely tried to push as hard as I could during this run.  I tried to see how close I could get to an average pace of 7:30 since the run the day before was at 7:45.  I was happy to see I got pretty close at 7:38.  It definitely was a challenging run and my legs felt like jello afterwards.

Closing out this week was great in that I can see some progress thanks to my consistent running during my 2 month break.  It’s nice to see that running lower mileage hasn’t affected my baseline pace too much.  As a result, I can start my training at a faster pace than I was at before (I was at about a 9:30-10:00 pace in August when I started marathon training).  This is a huge confidence boost since the sub-7 pace isn’t too far in the distance now.  I might just be able to get it this running season!

Leave a Reply

