Training Week: 22FEB2015 – 28FEB2015

image

I feel like this week went a lot better than usual.  I didn’t feel too horrible this week although I did have a bit of a tough time running due to ankle pain.

Sunday I did my weekly 6-miler.  I was getting the feeling that I may be pushing too hard on my “easy” runs so I tried to slow down just a bit more on this run.  Usually I try and push to stay below 8:30 but above 8:15, but I think that trying to push this pace is burning me out a bit.  My average paces hover around 8 minutes so I don’t think an 8:20 is really an easy pace for me (at least not yet).  It was easier this time around to slow down on my pace because we got a huge amount of snow fall that Saturday.  With about 8 inches of snow on the ground, there were tons of drifts covering the running paths I normally take at night.  We also had an unusually warm day Sunday where the temperature reached a high of 50.  This caused a lot of melting then refreezing once the sun went down.  By the time I went out on my run (8 PM), much of the water had frozen over already.  I had quite a few slip scares running which did not make the run enjoyable.  I probably should have gone to the gym but I wasn’t liking the idea of running for 50+ minutes on the treadmill.  I finished in one piece and was glad to get off those icy paths.

Monday was a scheduled gym day (I try to do weights M/W/F).  I completed 2 miles outside and headed to our gym to do 20 minutes on the elliptical.  I had a weird twinge of pain on my inner ankle so I didn’t feel comfortable running more than 2 miles that night (I wanted to do 3 originally).  I finished some core work then headed home.  The run felt good aside from the pain and I promptly went to ice and heat my ankle in hopes that it was just a sore muscle.

Tuesday I went outside once again for my 5K run.  The outdoors was just calling out to me so I didn’t even think twice about layering up to go out.  It’s been getting difficult for me to convince myself to run outside.  I love running outside for the scenery, but I am so over how cold it is outside.  I like running in cool weather but not being able to feel your face after your run is complete gets old after a while.  I’m also sick of all the snow and ice slicks.  I’m just ready to run on roads that actually have traction.  Wednesday I went outside once again to get my 2 miles in.  I did laps around our building because I didn’t feel like navigating the community across from us for the run.  They are terrible at clearing their sidewalks so running on them is hit or miss.  I hate the uncertainty of how their sidewalks will be and I wasn’t feeling like running on the road because it was dark out.  The laps weren’t too bad and went by quickly since it was only 2 miles.  I was feeling a bit out of sorts running so I didn’t go to the gym to finish with weights.  I just really wanted to go home.

Thursday I took my “rest” day by running a slow as dirt 1 mile.  I wanted to do some speed work the next day and since I don’t take actual rest days, I felt as though running slower than usual would help me recharge a bit.  Oh, the Chinese we had for dinner probably didn’t help, lol.  Way too heavy of a meal before going out for a run =).

Friday I got some glorious speed work in.  I was a bit wary when I started because I haven’t pushed myself hard in a few weeks.  Still, I knew I was going to have to start doing it again sooner or later since I have races coming up and training starting next month.  It actually went really well.  I started with the usual 5 minute warm up and completed 25 minutes of tempo runs with 1 minute rests in between (4 at tempo, 1 rest).  I managed to hit 7.8, 8.0, 8.2, 8.4, and 8.5 MPH for each repeat without feeling too winded.  I finished with a cool down at 6.5 MPH to get my total mileage to 5 miles total.  I felt amazing after I was done and was so glad I went for it.

Saturday I did a typical 5K on the treadmill and a half mile cool down (typical for most of my treadmill runs).  Nothing much to elaborate about this run, really.

I was glad to see managed to only do one 1-miler this week.  The last 2 weeks felt as though I’d been falling into a trap of getting in only 1 mile done many of the days of the week because I wasn’t motivated to run.  The only thing that was a bit of an annoyance this week (aside from the weather) was the fact that my ankle has been acting up a bit.  That twinge of pain I had Monday stuck around all week.  Heat therapy has been helping quite a bit as well as massaging the area.  I’m hoping it’ll resolve itself soon because it’s quite annoying.  I’m hoping it’s not tendonitis, though, because it would be a pain to deal with, not to mention how my running will be affected greatly by it.  It would suck to have my streak derailed 2 months in because of something like that!

Leave a Reply

