Training Week: 08FEB2015 – 14FEB2015

image

Running on vacation was quite interesting.  Every day except Wednesday and Friday I was up at 6 AM to get my run in before we hit the parks.  I’m not much of an early morning runner so this got old really fast.  Luckily, I was able to push on and just get it done.

Sunday I skimped my long run since I really wasn’t looking forward to completing it on the treadmill.  Unfortunately, Animal Kingdom Lodge property is not runner friendly.  There are no trails and the roads surrounding it lacked shoulders (more on that later).  When I got to the gym, only 2 of the 3 treadmills was working.  Both were being used by runners looking like they were in it for the long haul.  They knew I was waiting for one so I waited patiently.  Unfortunately, runner lady from the day before showed up and basically jumped on the treadmill the minute one of the runners got off.  She then went on about how she’s a runner and just HAD to get on.  Um, okay, but that was rude…especially since the girl that had been using it tried to let her know that I was waiting for it.  Thankfully, the other runner was done as well and he kindly let me know.  I decided to do a 2 miler since I didn’t have much time left to work out (we had a busy morning ahead of us).  I decided to run at a quicker tempo to at least challenge myself a little.  It wasn’t ideal but I felt good afterwards.

Monday I was just out of sorts.  I think all the walking was getting to me (we walked something around 25,000 steps throughout the day).  I took it easy and finished up my cardio on the elliptical.

Tuesday I decided to try out the roads around the resort.  I saw a guy running on the roads during the weekend so I decided to try it out.  I finished it but it was a total bust comfort-wise.  There are no shoulders on the roads surrounding the resort so I had to stop quite a few times to jump onto the curb and into the bushes so that I wasn’t hit by a car/bus.  There were a lot of blind spots so even running against traffic felt risky.  Right about at the 2 mile mark I was wishing we had stayed at Saratoga Springs.  I was annoyed for most of the run and once I was done I decided to stick to the machine for future runs.  I really wish the roads would have worked out because the scenery was awesome.

Wednesday we had an early breakfast at Chef Mickey so I didn’t get to run in the morning.  I decided to run in the afternoon/evening after we were done at the parks.  That was a mistake.  My legs were pretty much done by the time I hit the gym.  This was quite possibly one of the most painful miles I’ve done in a while.  I was sadly elated to call it quits after 1.  I didn’t realize how fatigued your legs can become from just walking!.

Thursday was a nice 5K.  Nothing big to talk about with this run.  It was just your typical treadmill run.  Friday we flew back home so I waited until we were back in MD to run.  I was exhausted from the trip so I did 1 easy mile.  Not ideal but at least it was something.  Saturday was a busy day so I wasn’t able to get outside to run.  I resigned to the gym treadmill and got another 5K done.

All in all it wasn’t a bad week.  I really wish it could have gone better distance-wise but that’s okay.  I know that in the future we won’t be staying at AKL, though.  This is not just because it wasn’t ideal for running.  It’s also the furthest hotel from all the parks, and the walk from our room to the lobby round trip was a quarter of a mile.  So not worth the savannah view.  I’m glad to be back.  We’ve had some frosty weather since coming back but I’m glad to have the option to run outside.  I do really miss the warm weather, though.  I hate having to bundle up every day!

Leave a Reply

