Oatmeal Banana Pancakes

I don’t write food entries anymore because it can be tedious to complete.  However, it is kind of nice to have a record of what I like somewhere rather than just bookmarking it on my browser.  Last week I really wanted pancakes but the thought of regular flour ones scare me still.  I decided to attempt the banana based pancakes again.  I say again because in the past I’ve ended up with an eggy banana disaster.  It actually turned out amazing!

I used the recipe from Ambitious Kitchen.  I purposely used it because it used cottage cheese and I had some I had to use quickly before it expired.

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup gluten-free old fashioned oats
  • ½ ripe banana
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • ½ tsp cinnamon
  • ¼ cup low-fat, small curd cottage cheese
  • 2 Tbsp unsweetened cashew milk

Directions:

  1. Place all the ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.  I had to pulse it a bit to get the right consistency.
  2. Heat a pat of butter on a griddle over medium heat.  Pour batter onto griddle in ¼ cup portions.
  3. Cook pancake until bubbles appear on the top, then flip the pancake.  Cook that side until it is golden.
  4. Slice the other half of the banana and top the pancakes with them.  I also topped them with some chopped pecans I had in the pantry.  Enjoy!

image

image

I was pleasantly surprised that they turned out this well!  Like I said earlier, I usually end up with something that resembles a scrambled egg with chunks of banana.  I really think that the oats and blending in the blender really help in preventing the chunky mass I’ve gotten in the past.  To ensure it wasn’t a fluke, I made them again this past week.  They turned out just as amazing.  This is definitely a breakfast recipe that will stay in my recipe box!

Leave a Reply

