Virginia Beach Rock n Roll Half Marathon – September 1, 2013

It’s been ages since I’ve done a running post so I’m so glad to do one now!

Since my last race (June 2) I’ve been out of commission.  I developed a stress fracture on my medial right tibia and was told to stay off it for 8 weeks.  There’s still a lot of drama associated with that and I’ll probably go into it in a future post.  Anyway, that left me with a mere 2 weeks to train.  Yeah.  I refused to drop out of it because, well, I’m stubborn and prideful.  I know it wasn’t the smartest decision athletically but I can admit I’m idiotically stubborn like that.  I went into this race expecting the bare minimum from myself and with a goal of 2:15 for a finish.

(All photos credit of MarathonFoto)

image

Me at the start of the race

I was a bit worried about starting too fast so I tried to pace myself.  I was really surprised in myself when I saw I was running about a 8:15 pace mainly because it felt so slow.  Since it had been so long since I ran, I felt like maybe I was going too fast.  Still, since I felt okay, I kept on with that pace.

image

Thumbs up at the turnaround point (about Mile 8)

After the halfway point, I felt the fatigue in my legs.  I decided to ease up and slow down.  I took a few walking breaks between water stations (about every 1.5 miles).  Since all I wanted was a 2:15 finish, I was pleased when the halfway point came at 50 minutes.  From that point on I just took in the scenery and listened to my body.

image

Right before the last mile.  We were on the boardwalk and could see the finish.  Still feeling good and still giving a thumbs up =)

When I got to the boardwalk I knew the end was near.  I was so glad to be able to see the last mile marker.  I was even more happier when I saw my family.  Isabella caught a glimpse of me and recognized me, bouncing in Manuel’s arms with excitement.

image

The moment I saw my family and when Izzy saw and recognized me

image

Waving to my family =)

I absolutely love these two photos.  The photographer did an awesome job capturing such a great moment.  The excitement in my face…I’ve never seen a photo of how I look when I see my daughter.  I’ve always been told that my face just lights up.  To be able to see these photos gave me the warm and fuzzies.  I’m pretty sure I’ve never looked more genuinely happy than these photos

image

Thumbs up at the finish.  I did it!

image

Mandatory bling shot.

I crossed the line at 2:09.  I was so glad to get it under 2:15…heck 2:10 was great for me.  With just 2 weeks of running I think I did wonderful.  I felt a bit sore (naturally) afterwards but felt okay 2 days post race. 

I’m running another half in DC on the 15th.  I’m not expecting a PR with that one but I’m hoping for a better finish than this one.  I’ll have more running under my belt so hopefully it’ll turn out better.  Granted, I know for the majority this isn’t the most advisable way to go when it comes to distance running.  However, I recognize this and realize that I’m probably just lucky I can to this without real injury afterwards.

Hopefully next week will go well!

Leave a Reply

