Vegan Stir Fry and Vietnamese Rice Noodle

Ingredients:

  • 1 ½ cups vegetable broth
  • 3 Tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 Tbsp Hodgson Mill Cornstarch (or any corn starch, really)
  • 1 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 tsp garlic powder or 2 tsp garlic, chopped
  • 1 tsp ground ginger or 2 tsp fresh ginger, chopped
  • ¼ tsp crushed red pepper (adjust to taste)
  • 14 cup golden milled flax seed (I used Hodgson MIl brand)
  • 3 Tbsp olive oil
  • 3-4 cups fresh or frozen assorted vegetables
  • 1 lb tofu, cubed
  • Vietnamese rice noodles (as much as you’d like)
Directions:

  1. Stir-fry tofu in 1 Tbsp of oil.  Add the rest of the oil and vegetables to the skillet.  Stir fry until the vegetables are crisp and tender,
  2. Add broth and remaining ingredients.  Bring to a simmer and stir constantly.  If you need to, add more broth to the mix if you feel it’s drying out (I had to do that in order to get the noodles cooked.
This was a quick and easy dinner for me.  It took maybe 20 minutes total to get everything cooked and ready to serve.  This makes a good 4 servings of stir-fry (yay for leftovers!).  If you prefer rice, you can always cook some up separately from the stir-fry (about a 1 cup should suffice for portioning out).
I’m a fan of spicy and salty so I added more soy sauce and sriracha sauce to it.  It was delicious and satisfied my craving of asian food.
Sorry there are no awesome step-by-step photos of the cooking process.  I was trying to watch my 8-month old and cook at the same time (craziness!).  Plus, it cooked so quickly by the time I realized I needed photos it was done (and chowing down)
It was so good I forgot to take a photo of it before I began to dig in…
Leave a Reply

