Coconut Curry Pumpkin Soup

I don’t know about all of you but fall is my favorite season of the year.  It’s finally cool enough to wear sweaters and running outside doesn’t feel like you’re running in the Sahara.  I also love it because my favorite fruit becomes readily available everywhere: pumpkin.  I love pumpkin.  In fact, I love it so much that love could be an understatement.  I decided to find out different ways to incorporate this wonderful fruit in my meals.  One of my great successes is a curry dish:

Ingredients:

  • ¼ cup coconut oil
  • 1 cup chopped white onion
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 3 cups of vegetable broth (I did 1.5 cups of vegetable broth, 1.5 of chicken in seperate pans so I could get my vegan fix and my husband could get his meat fix)
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ teaspoon ground coriander
  • ¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper
  • 1 (15 ounce) can of 100% pure pumpkin
  • 1 cup of light coconut milk
  • A few gnocchi dumplings
  • 1 chicken breast (for my husband)

Directions:

  1. Heat the coconut oil in a deep pot over medium-high heat. Stir in the onions and garlic; cook until the onions are translucent, about 5 minutes. Mix in the vegetable broth, curry powder, salt, coriander, and red pepper flakes. Cook and stir until the mixture comes to a gentle boil, about 10 minutes. Cover, and boil 15 to 20 minutes more, stirring occasionally. Whisk in the pumpkin and coconut milk, and cook another 5 minutes.
  2. Pour the soup into a blender, filling only half way and working in batches if necessary; process until smooth. Return to a pot, and reheat briefly over medium heat.  Add gnocchi or chicken and allow to cook for 15 more minutes over low heat.

That’s the recipe for the curry itself.  I wanted to make it a bit more hearty so my husband cooked up some white rice that we could pour the curry over.  It was delicious and very fulfilling.  It was especially great since it was cold and stormy that day and really warmed you up =)

Unfortunately, I don’t have any photos of the finished product.  I was excited to have it that I completely forgot about the photo.  Oops.  You’ll just have to trust me that it was delicious.

Leave a Reply

